Return to Headlines

July Board of Education Workshop Update

The West Plains School District Board of Education and Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Wesley Davis, participated in a professional development workshop today.

The workshop included presentations by the Missouri School Board Association (MSBA), Dr. Tiffany Young - Director of Curriculum, Dr. Amy Ross - Assistant Superintendent, and Mr. Matthew Orchard - Director of Human Resources & Student Services. MSBA provided training to the board, Dr. Young gave an NWEA update, Dr. Ross updated the board on MRI & Literacy Legislation, Mr. Orchard updated the board on facilities, staffing, and health insurance, and Dr. Davis gave a finance update.

The 2023 – 2024 school board members include Jim Thompson, President; Cindy Tyree, Vice President; Sam Riggs, member; Brian Mitchell, member; Christena Coleman-Silvey, member; Reid Grigsby, member; and Jodi Purgason, member.

It was an excellent day of learning and team building for the betterment of our students and our schools.


Monthly Employment Document – July 11, 2023


  1. New Hires – Board Action Required


Certified Positions

  • Stephanie Dow - Special Education Process Coordinator
  • Jonathan Guilbert - WPHS Science Teacher


Non-Certified Positions

  • Sarah Mayfield - WPE Office Manager
  1. Transfers – Board Action Required
  • None at this time


  1. Resignations – Board Action Required
  • Rebena Atkinson - Special Education Process Coordinator


  1. Retirements - Board Action Required
    • None at this time


  1. Terminations - Board Action Required
    • None at this time