Return to Headlines

2019 West Plains School District Faculty & Staff Awards Announced

The West Plains School District and the West Plains Education Foundation are proud to announce the 2019 faculty and staff awards and recognition. The West Plains Education Foundation hosted the first annual district faculty and staff awards Gala on Thursday, April 25th.  The evening was hosted by Dr. Josh Cotter and included dinner provided by the South Central Career Center culinary arts program, entertainment provided by the Zizzer Pride Jazz Band, and faculty staff awards and recognition including years of service, retirements and proclamations, new professional of the year, support staff of the year, volunteer of the year, and the district educator of the year.  The award recipients were chosen from a field of full-time staff members, full-time certified teachers, school librarians, guidance counselors, and instructional coaches who were nominated by administrators, colleagues, parents, and students for possessing the qualities of a great educator and team member.

2019 West Plains School District Educator of the Year, Michelle Henderson

The recipient of the 2019 West Plains School District Educator of the Year award is Mrs. Michelle Henderson, a science teacher at West Plains Middle School.

The educators selected as the 2019 West Plains School District building finalists included:

  • Scott Heidy – South Center Career Center
  • Jackie Ingalsbe – South Fork Elementary
  • Nancy Spoor – West Plains High School
  • Gina Green – West Plains Elementary


2019 Volunteer of the Year, Retha Cobb

The recipient of the 2019 Volunteer of the Year award is Mrs. Retha Cobb, a volunteer with many years in the district at South Fork Elementary and special education.

2019 New Professional of the Year, Morgan McGee

The recipient of the 2019 New Professional of the year is Ms. Morgan McGee, a fourth grade teacher at the West Plains Elementary.  The New Professional of the Year Award honors those who demonstrate a dedication education through strong leadership, teamwork, and integrity, while continually developing their knowledge and experience, necessary in this ever-changing world of education.

2019 Support Staff of the Year, Jan Mullen

The recipient of the 2019 Support Staff of the year is Mrs. Jan Mullen, the district’s Payroll & Benefits Manager.  The Support Staff of the Year award is intended to recognize support staff members who have achieved an outstanding level of professionalism in the performance of their assignment.  Each nominee must be a full-time support staff member and recognized as an effective staff member by students, colleagues and supervisors and demonstrates excellent work habits.



  • Steve Balough
  • RaDona Henry
  • Anna Mayberry
  • Stephanie Wood
  • Patsy  Bunch
  • Pamela Hippleheuser
  • Ronnie Harper
  • Deb Boyles 

Years of Service - 5 Years

5 years

  • Annette Boone
  • Anna Brauer
  • Anna Carter
  • Kimberly Coble
  • Bridgett Edwards
  • Benjamin Grace
  • Mary Howell
  • Alina Johnson
  • Tanya Miller
  • Brian Minahan
  • Elizabeth Norris
  • Brandy Peabody
  • Patricia Rodriguez
  • Keena Simpson
  • Ethan Smith 

Years of Service - 10 Years


  • Jenny Buehler
  • Amy Bunch
  • Wesley Marriott
  • Amy Marshall
  • Christina Staab
  • Jennifer Scharnhorst
  • Susan Thomas
  • Virginia Uphaus

Years of Service - 15 Years


  • Heather Hufstedler
  • Tracie Joiner
  • Sarah Land
  • Rocky Long
  • Erin Lovelace
  • Brian Morris
  • Connie Weber
  • Adriane Wooderson

 Years of Service - 20 Years


  • Amy Cunningham
  • Amy Jackson
  • Tonya Jedlicka

Years of Service - 25 Years


  • Steve Balough
  • Diana Parton
  • Jim Laughary
  • Lori Young

 Years of Service - 30 Years


  • Susan Wells

 Years of Service - 30+ Years

30 Years

  • Wanda Dame – 47 Years
  • Christy Ingalsbe – 33 Years
  • Scott Womack – 32 Years
  • Pat Bunch – 32 Years
  • Jeanne Harris – 31 Years