Return to Headlines

2024 District Faculty & Staff Awards


2024 Zizzer Champion of the Year

Sam Fox

Congratulations to Samantha Fox, our 2024 Zizzer Champion of the Year. As the South Fork Elementary Nurse, she went above and beyond in a very serious medical situation. Her quick response and compassion made all the difference. We are forever grateful for you, Nurse Sam.Thank you for everything you do.

New Professional of the Year


We are excited to honor Ms. Shandon Rhoads for the 2024 New Professional of the Year award. As a teacher at the Zizzer Pride Academy, she has shown exceptional dedication, skill, and empathy. Her engaging and inclusive teaching style has made her a cornerstone of our team. Ms. Rhoads truly embodies excellence and is a valued member of the West Plains R-VII School District faculty and staff. 

Coach of the Year


Congratulations to Coach Ryan T. Smith on being named the 2024 West Plains R-VII School District Coach/Sponsor of the Year. 

Coach Smith's dedication has elevated the boys' and girls' swim and dive teams to new heights. The girls' team soared to an 8th-place state finish, Ozark Conference champs, SWMO champs, and set numerous records. The boys' team had an incredible season with 11 state qualifiers, including two divers for the first time in Zizzer history, and a 1st place at the Seymour Swim Invitational. 

Your hard work and passion have transformed our athletes into champions and taught them invaluable life skills. Congratulations, Coach Smith! 


2024 Above & Beyond Award



This year, we're honoring not just one teacher, but a group of amazing educators who go above and beyond every day, the West Plains FFA team of Tonya Jedlicka, and Rachel Brotherton. These teachers work together seamlessly.. Their dedication knows no bounds: from SAE projects, FFA meetings, and state conventions to helping students in need with boots, clothes, and equipment.


They don’t just teach; they support their community. Their passion, dedication, and endless support make a huge difference in our students' lives. Thank you for your incredible work!